Budget 2024 LIVE: After Morarji Desai, Sitharaman only 2nd FM to present budget 6 times in a row

Budget 2024 LIVE: Sitharaman second finance minister to present budget 6 times in a row

Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman is poised to make history by delivering her sixth consecutive Budget, comprising five annual Budgets and one interim, a milestone previously achieved solely by former Prime Minister Morarji Desai. With the interim Budget scheduled for February 1, Sitharaman will surpass the achievements of her predecessors, including Manmohan Singh, Arun Jaitley, P Chidambaram, and Yashwant Sinha, all of whom presented five consecutive budgets. Morarji Desai, during his tenure as Finance Minister from 1959 to 1964, presented five annual Budgets and one interim Budget, solidifying his unique place in this record.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *